No Buko, No Pie



Medical Student Mode

I have not read as much as I have when I was a medical student and when when I was reviewing for the Medical Boards – and that was years ago! But I have been hit with a sudden burst of inspiration that I want to devour as much info as I can these days.

However, during these past three weeks, I realized that I couldn’t get myself to focus as intently as I had back then.

And so when I concluded that struggling to read at home would get me nowhere, I hopped on my car and drove to the nearest coffee shop. I chose the most comfy couch even if it were in the smoking section (I am not a smoker). And what I have accomplished is remarkable – I was able to cram and integrate in 1 hour volumes of info more than what I have struggled to inject into my stuporous brain in 1 day during the past 3 weeks! My focus was so intent that when my attention span eventually lapsed, I only took a break to snap this photo:

P170409_17.48

…of a Japanese guy who fell asleep waiting for his Filipina wife to arrive. That’s how long I stayed.

Later, the fruity guy behind me was able to download songs from LimeWire and we struck a conversation over my crab and tuna sandwich dinner.

This study session was worth P250. That’s P200 more than what I would have spent had this study session been back in my place. But every cent was worth it. I can never replace my elation over what I have accomplished.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Medical Student Mode Again – Tambays with a Mission | Why Kan't Doc Zoe Write? pingbacked on 14 years, 10 months ago

Comments



Leave a comment